Archive for January 29th, 2010

29
Jan
10

Video! K’Naan ft. David Bisbal – "Wavin’ Flag"

Here is the video for a version of K’Naan’s “Wavin’ Flag” featuring David Bisbal. I’m not exactly sure what the deal is, but here are some clues that we can put together.

1) “Wavin’ Flag” is the official anthem of the 2010 World Cup.
2) There are video clips from soccer, ehmm, futbol matches in this, along with clip art soccer balls at some points.
3) David Bisbal is a Grammy winning Spanish pop star.

Parts of this video seem really corny to me. Particularly the parts involving Bisbal. David Bisbal strikes a lot of poses that one might expect someone to strike if they just won a righteous battle and were now bathing in a waterfall. Super glorious. But I’m not mad. I like K’Naan and I’m glad he’s getting some recognition on this kind of massive international level.

Thanks to elhise for the heads up.

29
Jan
10

Video! ArtOfficial "Voodoo Child" Jam Session

Oh shit, this is live! So sick. This is part of a video series promoting ArtOfficial‘s free album The Payback, out March 26th. This video shows the guys jamming out to a song based on the musical backdrop of Hendrix’s “Voodoo Child”. When I see live hip-hop like this I can’t help but crack a smile and nod my head. Who knew a saxophone could rock out on some Jimi?

29
Jan
10

The Constellations – "Setback" (Kickdrums Remix)


The Kickdrums just sent over this remix they did of ATL band The Constellations. The Kickdrums are always on point with their production, and this time they’ve crafted a fun, crispy rock song perfect to get your weekend kickdrummed off right. They’ve got a great sense of music and their dabblings into different genres provides for a unique sound somewhere in between The Gorillaz and LCD Soundsystem.

The Constellations – Setback (Kickdrums Remix) | YouSendIt

29
Jan
10

New! jj – "My Life" & "And Now"


You wouldn’t know it by listening to most of their mellow, atmospheric music, but the mysterious Swedish group jj seems to have a strange obsession with Lil Wayne. First they exploded onto the scene with “Ecstasy”, their drug induced take on “Lollipop”, then they borrowed a Wayne verse for “My Way”, and now they again regurgitate Weezy’s words from the chorus of “My Life” for their latest album opener. It sounds kind of like Fiona Apple singing in a pitch black, damp cave with sparse piano accompaniment.

I’ve also included another track “And Now” from No.3, their upcoming album out March 9th. It’s a little fuller than most jj tracks, really picking up about halfway through with some light percussion, strings, and a couple electronic touches. What always stands out to me in jj songs is the simple and silky smooth melody. Although jj’s sound is very distinct and a little timid, you can imagine this melody being used in a heavy hitting pop song, an arena rock hit, or a jam band groove.

jj – My Life | YouSendIt

jj – And Now | YouSendIt

Thanks to WAWSTSF and YourThirdEar

29
Jan
10

Mos Def – "The Tournament" (Unreleased)


I’m a little late on this one, but this is an unreleased Mos Def song that was recorded for The Ecstatic and didn’t end up on the album for whatever reason (possibly sample clearance issues). Regardless, this one is definitely worth a listen for any fans of the mighty Mos Def.

Mos Def – The Tournament
| YouSendIt

29
Jan
10

Video! Lil Wayne – The Nino Brown Story (Full Documentary)

Here’s the full documentary, in case you aren’t sick of pieces on Lil Wayne. I’m not. Even if you don’t like him, you have to admit he’s a hell of a subject. I see him and hear him on an almost daily basis, but somehow he comes across as unreal as a cartoon. Then something like this comes out. There are 9 parts to this.

Saw it at 2DB

29
Jan
10

Video! Justin Taylor ft Ratatat – "Why Can’t I Fly"

Justin Taylor – Why Can’t I Fly? from Spencer Tuckerman on Vimeo.

Here’s a video for Justin Taylor‘s “Why Can’t I Fly, done by Spencer Tuckerman. I’ve heard a few tracks from Justin Taylor, and I still can’t quite put my finger on him. These days, you hear/see an artist and half the time you can probably sum up the musician in a couple of sentences. Not Justin. Justin Taylor is part rapper, part singer, a little bit of pop, a little bit of rock, and he’s only 18 years old with a head full of potential.

Justin Taylor – Why Can’t I Fly | YouSendIt