Archive for January 27th, 2010

27
Jan
10

Video! Steve Jobs Introduces the iPad

In case you haven’t already seen this, here is Steve Jobs unveiling the latest product that everyone was expecting – the iPad. To me, it seems like a big goofy iPhone without the phone aspect. Or a computer without a keyboard. But to be honest, I don’t mind keyboards. Still, I wouldn’t be mad if someone gave me one. And at $500, it is surprisingly affordable. What do you think?

The iPad, how kids in Boston have been pronouncing iPod since 2001.TheStaticJacks

I wish it was a lot smaller, and allowed me to make phone calls.

iPad and iTampon for when iBleed.

If you and your friends buy them at the same time do they automatically sync up?

Lots more iTampon jokes here.

Sidenote: Within a few hours of Jobs announcing the iPad, “iTampon” has become a trending topic and iTampon jokes have dominated Twitter. Possibly a poor choice of word? Or maybe the internet just has the collective maturity level of a 6th grader.

27
Jan
10

A-Trak ft. Drake & Birdman – "Loonies To Blow"


This is A-Trak’s remix of Birdman and Drake’s “Money To Blow” with a Canadian spin. I guess a “Loonie” is a one dollar coin. (Correct me if I’m wrong). A-Trak turns the hit into a club banger. I’d happily trade the 5 times a day I hear the original on the radio for this. Very nice remix.

A-Trak ft. Drake & Birdman – Loonies To Blow | YouSendIt

27
Jan
10

Video! Broken Bells – "The High Road"


The High Road

Broken Bells | MySpace Music Videos

Here’s the video for Broken Bells’ (James Mercer of the Shins + Danger Mouse) “The High Road”. Their debut album will be out March 9th. You can preoder the CD/vinyl here. I’m excited for this album. I’m going to go out on a limb and say that I think it will be the kind of album from which everyone will have a different favorite song. It seems like Broken Bells has the kind of sound that won’t yield any immediate stand out smash hits, but definitely has the potential to make a great album full of songs that stick with you. Grab the MP3 at the bottom.

Tracklist

1 The High Road
2 Vaporize
3 Your Head Is On Fire
4 The Ghost Inside
5 Sailing to Nowhere
6 Trap Doors
7 Citizen
8 October
9 Mongrel Heart
10 The Mall and Misery

Broken Bells – The High Road

27
Jan
10

Video! Weirdest Acceptance Speech Ever

Fever Ray, the solo project of The Knife’s Karin Dreijer Andersson receives the prize for the year’s best dance artist at P3 Gold in Gothenburg. In this video, she proves that Lady Gaga isn’t the only pop star who can do weird shit at award shows. I’m not sure what the point is, but I like it. I’d rather see this than see some glammed up celeb thanking a bunch of people that I don’t know.

Fever Ray – Seven | YouSendIt

27
Jan
10

New! Justice – "Beginning of the End"


Here is Justice’s new single. It’s dark, in a light horror movie/evil boss stage in a 90’s video game kind of way. Honestly, this doesn’t do anything for me. It’s a cool beat, but feels like a completely empty song. For me, new Justice is mostly exciting because I’m sure some people will get creative with the remixes, like when Wale killed “D.A.N.C.E.”.

UPDATE: Apparently, this may be fake. It was sent out in mysterious emails with little information, and now rumors are swirling that it isn’t real. I’m half hoping that this is true, because it’s pretty unimpressive.

Justice – Beginning of the End | YouSendIt

Saw it at Living Ears

27
Jan
10

Corinne Stevie – "Cristal On The Moon"


I don’t think I’ve ever heard Corinne Stevie before, but I saw this over at iLLRoots and this picture got me interested. I have a thing for knives, and I too like to aggressively teeth them for photo ops.

Like the title suggests, this song is a blend of urban and lunar. The beat on this one is deep, and the sound is so spacey that you might actually be able to convince your really gullible friend that this was recorded in a moon simulator studio. Corinne is working on a mixtape and her album Amalgram is set to drop this summer.

Corinne Stevie – Cristal On The Moon | YouSendIt