Archive for January 23rd, 2010

23
Jan
10

Video! Conan O’Brien’s Finale

If you didn’t see it last night, here’s the finale to Conan’s last show on NBC. After getting serious for a while and offering some wise words to his viewers, he lets loose in this video. It involves Ben Harper, Beck, one of those old bearded guys from ZZ Top, Will Ferrell, and a couple of others. I hope someone gives Conan another show soon, because he was my go to guy for late night entertainment, plus he seems like one of the few genuinely good people on television.

23
Jan
10

New! Damien Marley & Nasir Jones – "As We Enter"

As you listen to this, I want you to try not to continuously nod your head thruogh out the entire song…then let me know how hard that was (if you can even accomplish it). Another leak off of Nas & Damien’s collaborative LP, *Distant Relatives*. More dopeness from the new duo!

Damien Marley & Nasir Jones – “As We Enter” | YouSendIt

23
Jan
10

New! Kanye West – "What It Is" (Demo)

I’m hearing that the 1st verse in this joint is old; from a different song, but idc…it’s new to my ears. Rather fresh if I must say so as well. The 2nd verse he’s rapping gibberish but it’s not bad. Reminds me of “Gibberish” by Ryan Leslie. Seems to me like he didn’t have a 2nd verse & began freestyling as the beat continued playing. & it clearly isn’t finished. Check it out!

Kanye West – “What It Is” | YouSendIt

23
Jan
10

Purple Monkey Sircus – "Blue Moo Cookie Dough"


New music from PMS! Purple Monkey Sircus is a young up and coming trio that (despite the name) can’t fail in my mind. These guys just have a style that I agree with. Ever since I heard the Passion Pit sampled “Fuck My Life” it clicked with me.

When I’ve posted them in the past, I heard a lot of Chiddy Bang comparisons, and it makes sense. They both come with that brightly colored glow in the dark hip-hop that isn’t afraid to do things differently and they’re both up on their indie rock. Chiddy Bang’s production is a little more beefed up and polished, but I think what PMS lacks in production and mastering they make up for with character and a subtle charisma that comes across in every word. I hope they prove me right, because I’m expecting great things from Purple Monkey Sircus in the future.

Purple Monkey Sircus – Blue Moo Cookie Dough | YouSendIt

23
Jan
10

Video! Wyclef’s Closing Performance on Hope For Haiti

Here’s Wyclef’s performance for the closing of the Hope For Haiti Now telethon. He starts of with his take on “Rivers Of Babylon”, then goes into some Creole singing, and then into some more lively, inspirational music. From the second news of the earthquake hit, Wyclef has been working hard to do as much as he can for Haiti through his organization and any other chances he gets. He was born in Haiti, his uncle is the Haitian ambassador to the US, and he has many strong ties to that country so it’s fitting that he closed out Hope For Haiti Now.

23
Jan
10

Jay-Z & Rihanna & U2 – "Stranded" (Haiti Mon Amour)


That was fast. Jay-Z, Bono, The Edge, and Rihanna were just on the celebrity-filled Hope For Haiti Now special on TV, and now we have the mp3 of the performance. It turned out to be a pretty cool song, and the studio version should sound even better. The proceeds from the studio version will go to Partners In Health. It will be on iTunes on January 25th.

I have mixed feelings after watching the Hope For Haiti Now special, but anything that generates money for a good cause can’t be a bad thing. So if an awkward conversation between Reese Witherspoon and a random caller or a plea from a billy goat bearded Brad Pitt is what it takes to get America to donate, then let’s do it.

Jay-Z, Rihanna, Bono, & The Edge – Stranded (Haiti Mon Amour) | YouSendIt

BUY THE SONG ON ITUNES HERE

Thanks to YHTN.

23
Jan
10

The Middle East – "Blood and "The Darkest Side"


I love acoustic music, but due to my raging anxiety, explosive thirst for all things caffeinated, and general desire for instant satisfaction, my recent music taste has been dominated by loud noises and quickly moving beats. So when I got this email about the Australian band called The Middle East, I thought “Good, Aussies seem to be an excitable bunch.” Lightning bolts and infernos filled up little thought clouds above my head.

Those little thought clouds quickly dispersed when I pressed play. The Middle East’s sound is filled with acoustic guitars and a voice barely breaking out of a whisper. But the thing is, I never wanted to press “stop”. Check them out, these guys will be at Coachella.

The Middle East – The Darkest Side | YouSendIt

The Middle East – Blood | YouSendIt