02
Jan
10

Chip Tha Ripper ft. Kid Cudi – "Ask About Me"


I’ll admit it, I hopped on the Kid Cudi bandwagon late. He was on my radar for a long time, but it didn’t click until I listened to A Kid Named Cudi from start to finish. To this day, I still don’t understand why “Day N Nite” was his breakthrough song. “Man On The Moon”, “Embrace The Martian”, and “The Prayer” all got heavier rotation on my playlists. But shit, whatever works.

Since I wasn’t on board with Cudi at first, I missed some of his early work, like this ancient Chip Tha Ripper song he was featured on in mid-2008. Check it out.

Chip Tha Ripper ft. Kid Cudi – Ask About Me
| YouSendIt

11 Responses to “Chip Tha Ripper ft. Kid Cudi – "Ask About Me"”


  1. 1 MO
    January 3, 2010 at 12:03 am

    There are a lot better songs than Day N Nite.For sure.yea, this song is ancient for sure, but people who don't have a lot of cudi should like it.

  2. 2 dex
    January 3, 2010 at 12:53 am

    i think "A KiD NaMeD CuDi" is actually a better cd than "Man On The Moon" but both are great.

  3. 3 Anonymous
    January 3, 2010 at 1:07 am

    Its a shame that songs like "man on he moon" and especially "the prayer" dont get recognition. They deserve it

  4. 5 TC
    January 3, 2010 at 4:53 am

    This reminds me of some shit thats been bugging me that I have to get off my chest haha. When I listen to old Kid Cudi, it just reminds me of how much better A Kid Named Cudi was than his album. And it reminds me that I keep seeing this trend of mixtapes being so much better than albums (Wale's The Mixtape About Nothing) for example.And It makes me think that even though I love mixtapes and all forms of free music, the way that the mixtapes have changed the industry so that a rapper has to release a mixtape to get buzz, all of their best work ends up being given away for free, and once they finally get a chance to record an album and get mainstream attention, they have already produced all of the great music that they can. Then their album gets bad reviews, and they don't get a chance to expand their fanbase.

  5. 6 Confusion
    January 3, 2010 at 5:29 am

    Yeah I know what you mean, but I think every situation is different. I agree with you about Wale, but I think the reason for that is because he came up over live-sounding beats with real instruments. His studio album with big time production just changed everything. I think Wale has way more potential than he showed on AD. I hope he switches things up in the future.I don't think that these guys are running out of music, I just think mixtapes probably come out a lot more naturally since there isn't as much money going into it and pressure to sell it. Studio albums involve a lot of people telling you what you should be doing and how to do it and there's a lot more pressure to conform.As far as Cudi, I loved the mixtape and the album. I think my favorite songs are probably from the mixtape, but the album is way more cohesive as as a whole. I don't know.

  6. 7 TC
    January 3, 2010 at 6:12 am

    Yeah, now that I think about it, if Wale made a gogo album I bet it could be as good as The Mixtape About Nothing.And as for Kid Cudi, the album was much more cohesive, and I feel like Kid Cudi wanted that, so he had to make a trade off of whether to focus on the individual tracks or the album as a whole, and I guess I wasn't looking so much for cohesiveness when listening to his album. I guess this whole idea came out of a looming fear for some of my favorite mixtape artists working on albums having the same thing happen to them, even if it may be for other reasons.

  7. 8 Confusion
    January 3, 2010 at 6:40 am

    Yeah I feel you. I worry about that too. Mixtapes and albums are two different beasts.

  8. 9 Noods
    January 3, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Dex I couldn't agree with you more on that.. Two of my other favorites on A Kid Named CuDi are Down & Out and 50 Ways To Make a Record, but one of the greatest tapes ever in my opinion.

  9. 10 ZAAACH
    January 4, 2010 at 7:54 am

    day n night is very repetitive im gunna have to agree and alot of the material on his album is very minimalistic yet effective. this song def shits on day 'n night tho

  10. 11 ZAAACH
    January 4, 2010 at 7:54 am

    day n night is very repetitive im gunna have to agree and alot of the material on his album is very minimalistic yet effective. this song def shits on day 'n night tho


Leave a Reply

