Archive for January 2nd, 2010

02
Jan
10

Chip Tha Ripper ft. Kid Cudi – "Ask About Me"


I’ll admit it, I hopped on the Kid Cudi bandwagon late. He was on my radar for a long time, but it didn’t click until I listened to A Kid Named Cudi from start to finish. To this day, I still don’t understand why “Day N Nite” was his breakthrough song. “Man On The Moon”, “Embrace The Martian”, and “The Prayer” all got heavier rotation on my playlists. But shit, whatever works.

Since I wasn’t on board with Cudi at first, I missed some of his early work, like this ancient Chip Tha Ripper song he was featured on in mid-2008. Check it out.

Chip Tha Ripper ft. Kid Cudi – Ask About Me
| YouSendIt

02
Jan
10

Video! People From 156 Countries Sing "All You Need Is Love"

It’s a cool idea, and I guess it’s for a good cause. Apparently Starbucks is going to contribute to the Global Fund to help fight AIDS in Africa everytime this video is passed on. I know Starbucks is considered one of the most ethical companies, but I still don’t trust them. Maybe because all their shit is overpriced, or maybe because I’m a loyal Dunkin Donuts customer. Also, I don’t know about the song choice, The Beatles? Very 2009.

02
Jan
10

Cage – "I Never Knew You" and "Look At What You Did" (Daytrotter Versions)


Our favorite psycho, drug riddled spitter turned damaged indie rapper Cage has stopped by Daytrotter to do a couple original renditions of a few tracks from his latest release Depart From Me. Cage has changed a lot over the years, but his music remains dark, twisted, and completely original. Here are my two favorite tracks from his Daytrotter session. Get the whole thing here.

Cage – I Never Knew You (Daytrotter Version)
| YouSendIt

Cage – Look At What You Did (Daytrotter Version)
| YouSendIt

Also check the original “I Never Knew You” from Depart From Me. It’s creepy, stalker vibe is sure to resonate with anyone who’s ever loved something (someone) they couldn’t get. A must-have for any closet predator, fan of American Psycho, or those of you with a Natalie Portman shrine in your basement featuring pictures of her pasted into all your family portraits. Great song.

Cage – I Never Knew You | YouSendIt

02
Jan
10

Pogo – "Upular" (Original Song Made Of Sounds From the Movie Up)

I saw this over at WAWSTSF via Rogo, and I couldn’t resist sharing. It’s not something I’d tack on to my latest playlist, but it’s pretty impressive to consider what has been done here. Pogo is a DJ from down under that takes sound clips from movies and pieces them together to form original songs. This particular track is made from tiny slivers of sound taken from the movie Up.

Pogo – Upular
| YouSendIt