Archive for January 1st, 2010

01
Jan
10

Pictures! Jennifer Lopez’ Skin Tight New Year’s Outfit


Click the image for a larger view. That is all.

01
Jan
10

Shanell ft. Lil Wayne & Ne-Yo -"Other Side" (Prod. David Guetta)


This definitely isn’t your typical Young Money song. Produced by French DJ David Guetta, “Other Side” is trying to be a dance track, but it doesn’t work at all. The beat has nice build-ups and breaks, but it’s monotony is glaring beneath the weak vocals. Shanell sounds like she’s doing her best 90’s international dance track impersonation, and even Weezy sounds like half-assed-feature Wayne. You know, the one that will hop on any song if he thinks it will lead to money in his pocket. When I saw David Guetta and Lil Wayne on a track, I would have never guessed that Ne-Yo would be the highlight.

I stick my lightning rod between your thunder thighs. – Lil Wayne

Shanell ft. Lil Wayne & Ne-Yo – Other Side | YouSendIt

01
Jan
10

Real Talk. All About Confusion. Let’s Get Personal.


Okay. Ready for some real talk? I speak a lot of shit on here. Half of what I say can’t be taken seriously because I douse everything I say in gasoline and set it on fire before I post it. But contrary to popular belief, I’m a real person, and I think day one of 2010 is a good time to let you know a little about myself. I give you plenty of glimpses into my life, but I’m never straightforward, and I think it’s becoming counterproductive to what I’m trying to do.

Even though a couple posts ago I mocked resolutions, I do make them. I’ve learned a lot through this blog, and this year I want to make some real moves and try to gain some ground in the area I love – music (for the layman). There’s a looming fear of ending up at a 9-5 desk job that grinds away in the back of my head every day. If you didn’t know, I’m 24 years old (although I still get carded for alcohol…and lottery tickets). I studied finance in my undergrad and I’m now a first year grad student in business marketing. I’ve held random jobs ranging from a full time counselor at a camp for special needs children to an assistant to the Director of Purchasing of the city government, and at this point in my life, I have no idea where I’m going to end up after I get my MBA.

Want to get personal? I’m white, mostly Polish. I’ve lived in CT, Sweden, VA, FL, and NY. I grew up listening to MJ, Jimi, Bob Marley, Jimmy Cliff, Roxette, and The Beatles. I moved on to Nirvana, The Pixies, Rage, Prodigy, etc. I fell in love with hip-hop when my sister gave me a Gangstarr CD and A Tribe Called Quest CD. Best birthday presents ever. After that it was nothing but 2Pac, Eminem, Biggie, Big L, Jay-Z and the classics. I went through a couple of years when I listened to almost nothing but underground hip-hop – Atmosphere, DPD, Cage, Cannibal Ox, El-P, Aesop Rock, Living Legends, and some really obscure abstract stuff. I also went through a couple of years when I was in love with the Grateful Dead, Phish, jazz, blues, jam bands, and I switched to indie rock after that. I guess I jumped all over the place. It wasn’t until college that I realized that I loved music of all kinds, and I was done trying to find my niche. I don’t have one.

I got the name Confusion when I met someone who was into tagging. At this point in my life I was heavy into the trees and other stuff and I loved freestyling. I took “con” meaning “with” in Spanish and “fusion” meaning bringing things together and thought it was a cool name (probably way cooler than it actually is). I got a fat marker and practiced writing it on everything I owned. I got over that, but the name stuck with me like the ink on all my belongings. If you ever get into my house you’ll see what I mean.

Want to get really personal? I’m very introverted. I love to party but there are very few people who are really close to me. I’m pretty sure I’ve got general anxiety disorder and sleep disorder and the term “social networking” makes me cringe, even though I know it’s what I need to be doing in order to get where I want to be. I’ve got a girlfriend of almost 3 years and she’s the complete opposite of me. I love her. I think I’ve acquired a good business sense through my education and experience, but at heart I’m artistic and I value creativity above everything. I’m extremely sensitive, but I always keep a true “I don’t give a fuck” in my back pocket.

So that’s pretty much me. I try to keep it real and be as honest as I can in here and I’ve never said anything I haven’t meant, but I’ve always felt like I’m kind of straddling multiple worlds. Whether it be business and creativity, rock and hip-hop, or reality and trying to seem “cool” and appealing to the people who read this blog. But I think it’s important to put everything on the table and just be me. I hope that I can somehow merge all these sides of myself into one and take flight with that. Thank you all for sticking with me through this first year. As stupid as it may seem, this blog has been an important outlet and has helped me keep my sanity in a world in which I’m not sure where I fit. It means a lot to me.

Hello 2010.

01
Jan
10

The First Music Video Of 2010: Jay-Z – "On to the Next One"

This isn’t one of my favorite tracks off BP3, but it works. On to the next one. This video was premiered a couple of minutes ago on NBC right after the ball drop, making it the first music video of 2010 (after the millions of pigeons with a New Year video oncept that pressed “publish” second their clock struck 11:59). Very cool video with some striking imagery. If only they could edit out Swizzy.

Goodbye 2009, nice to know you.

Hello, 2010. Nice to meet you.

01
Jan
10

HAPPY 2010!!!!!!!


Happy 2010!!! Anyone make any good resolutions? Or are those like wishes, and you aren’t allowed to tell? It’s ok, you’ll probably break them in the first week anyway, or forget about them all together by June. Let me know if you’ve got any good ones by midnight so I can steal them and make them my own. Otherwise I’m just sticking with the fallback – make more money, be a “better person”, and start a record label. (Anyone wanna help out with that? You’re hired.)

But seriously, have a great night. Start off the year right (probably with a massive hangover and at least 2 new regrets), and let’s kill it in 2010! See you next year, fuckers!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!