30
Oct
09

New! Wale – "Mirrors" (ft. Bun B)


I said that last post would be the final one for the night, but then this came out. New Wale from Attention Deficit. Production by Mark Ronson.

I’ve only listened once, so don’t take my opinion too seriously, but I’m a little disappointed. I feel like Wale is at his best over those high energy, go-go beats with lots of drums and unexpected twists. Maybe I’m just worried that Wale started off as something completely unique to me, and I don’t want to see him lose that individuality. As he gets more popular, I hope he doesn’t get molded to fit into what’s already out there.

This is a solid track, and maybe it will grow on me, but I hope AD features some of those wild go-go tracks, otherwise I’m gonna go back to A Mixtape About Nothing. Maybe that’s just me though.

Wale – Mirrors ft. Bun B | YouSendIt

3 Responses to “New! Wale – "Mirrors" (ft. Bun B)”


  1. 1 Carthos
    October 30, 2009 at 7:55 am

    I also like Wale's unique GoGo side, but I liked this a lot too. Nice smooth track, good hook, Bun was good on this, and it shows Wale's versatility – while he is fist and foremost that high energy GoGo guy, he can still hit tracks like this and deliver. I'm excited for AD.

  2. 2 Charlie Hilton
    October 30, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    I want to agree with you Confusion, but I thought of it like this, it may help:Mark Ronson makes beats that usually stick to a formula, a very dope formula, but a formula nonetheless. Theyre reminiscent of motown soul – and they don't have random shit / twists happening. What I think happened was that Mr. Ronson hit Wale up with a couple of beats, Wale saw the opportunity as once in a life time and used them both.Personally, I think he killed this one and 'Letters' – but I agree that I like his 'Chillin' / 'Inhibitions' stuff just a tad more.

  3. 3 Confusion
    October 30, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    I don't know. I can't blame Wale for making "good" decisions to help his success in the industry, but I just hate to see artists sacrifice their music. Wale has been doing this shit for years and he's developed such a distinct style. Maybe go over these tracks for fun, but not on the album. I agree though, these aren't bad at all, just not what I wanted from Wale.


Leave a Reply

