11
Sep
09

Music I Feel Guilty About Not Checking Out


I’m always throwing music up here on P&P. It’s awesome that people read this and check things out based on my recommendation. Thank you so much for reading. One day I’m gonna get on top of ALL this shit and be a “professional”. For now, I’m just a dude who listens to a lot of music. I try to stay on top of it all, but I miss a lot of shit. Sometimes really obvious shit.

So now, at 4:00 AM, I decide to ask you for some advice. I’m going to list some stuff that I haven’t listened to. I’m hoping you’ll leave some comments and let me know what I’m missing out on. Let me know if there’s a track I need to hear, if there’s an artist that I’m a complete ass for disregarding, or if I’m gonna be okay in my ignorance. Ready? Go.

The Dead Weather

Jack White is a badass. I love Alison from The Kills. Midnight Boom was one of my favorite albums of 2008. But I don’t think I’ve ever really listened to a Dead Weather track from start to finish. Why? Not sure.

Mos Def’s The Ecstatic

Yeah, I heard some early leaks. Couldn’t post them because Mos’ people were pretty strict about that. Then the album came out. Oops. How was it?

Skyzoo

Sky who? (Sorry, couldn’t resist that one.)

Dirty Projectors

When people talk about them, I nod. I pretend to have an idea. No idea. The longer it goes, the less motivated I am to get into it. Am I too late or is this essential listening?

Blu

Yeah, he’s cool. Classic? Huh? What did I miss?

Dinosaur Jr.

Another name that’s often in the same sentence as classic. Long gray hair makes it clear that they’ve been around. I’m assuming that their latest material isn’t their best, but the extensive discography makes me lightheaded.

Slaughterhouse

Joell Ortiz is cool. Crooked I is cool. I don’t fuck with Joe Budden. Royce Da 5’9″ has impressed me on a couple occasions. Together, these guys have the hip-hop blogs growing massive cyber erections. I don’t know. I dig the logo.

Arctic Monkeys


It might sound crazy, but the only song I have is “Crying Lightning” from Humbug. I hear people speaking so highly of them, like they are finally reaching their maximum potential. I need to do some serious listening before that dreaded “classic” word starts coming up. Where do I start?

I could probably go on for a while, but these are my most urgent cases of neglect. Help me!

13 Responses to “Music I Feel Guilty About Not Checking Out”


  1. 1 Joseph
    September 11, 2009 at 8:10 am

    dirty projectors blowartic monkeys new album is pretty borning mos def has that one really good song about quiet dog bites hard or something 🙂 haven't listened to the rest of the album the dead weather have a cool video out where they shoot each other and stuff…

  2. 2 Nat
    September 11, 2009 at 8:17 am

    The Slaughterhouse album is extremely disappointing. You put 3 (I'm excluding Joe Budden) lyrical giants on an album and you expect lyrical dominance, but it's not there. The Ecstatic is the best from Mos Def since Black on Both Sides. It's a solid album and probably in my top 5 of the year so far. Love the Dead Weather shit. Also another solid album. Other things you may have missed out on: The Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse album and the Dark Was the Night compilation.

  3. 3 Spencer
    September 11, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Look up pallers. Sweedish electro. On labrador records. U should just do a post on labrador records as a whole

  4. 4 Anonymous
    September 11, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    The Ecstatic is a top quality album, definitely need to check it out.What I love about Arctic Monkeys is their energy and the excitement of their music. Unfortunately Humbug is as exciting as a funeral. You didn't miss much.

  5. 5 Bball22ok
    September 11, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Blu's a solid underground rapper. Definetly should check him out. I've heard some of Skyzoo early stuff and he reminds me of an offshoot of early Kanye. Not really as good but worth checking out.The Ecstatic as a whole was a little disappointing for me. I don't think I made it through the whole thing. However there are some really good songs on it. The song "History" really hit me hard as a possible Blackstar reunion preview over a killer Dilla beat.Everything else's is overrated (Especially Dirty Projectors. They keep getting good reviews but I cant seem to get into them).

  6. 6 Purple Hulk
    September 11, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Mos's album SUCKED. He's really gone downhill.Arctic Monkeys are better now than ever.Blu is great, dont know why you've been sleeping on him…Same goes with Dead Weather

  7. 7 Tmo
    September 11, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    If you do anything, listen to blu and exiles, Below the Heavens. It is probably at least top 5 albums all time for me. no offense to man above me, but blu is much more than solid. and this cd shows it, every song except for Juicin, gets regular play with me. get a hold of the cd, and play it through, and check out stress off my chest, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1QWaKYJXrSQ

  8. 8 MICHAEL WASH
    September 11, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    BEST TRACK OFF OF MOS DEF'S NEW ALBUM:http://www.box.net/shared/y22tm1dn92As a whole, wasnt one of his best but definitely not as bad as these cats are saying it was. It had a few good tracks, like the one above.And for new music, I dont know if you have heard of "Dubstep" before or even know what that is, but this track here by Rusko & Caspa is doing MAJOR DAMAGE across the globe…Peep it:http://www.box.net/shared/hs6vco7b9k

  9. 9 LizzieHead
    September 11, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Havent listened to any of this, lol. I remember there being a Dinosaur Jr song on Guitar Hero, dont remember if I liked it… thats the extent of my experience here.I feel you need to check out Skyzoo, Blu & Slaughterhouse for me and upload any good tracks. ; )I am lazy, I just trust your (and a couple other blogs) recommendations to guide me on this.. Love the blog!

  10. 10 Kirsty
    September 13, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Ahh arctic monkeys is something you gottttaaaa get into. The new album is a different take from their old stuff but still worth a listen regardless. Cornerstone and My Propeller are two i would recommend first. If you're not feeling that, check out Mardy Bum, From the Ritz to the Rubble or Old Yellow Bricks. If you don't like any of these… youuuu crazy!Love your blog buddy!

  11. 11 ::the:mix:mason::
    September 14, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    i agree with MICHAEL WALSH. "Auditorium" is by far the best track on The Ecstatic. Just saw Mos in concert and he said that song is one of his favorite things ON EARTH!

  12. 12 ferman
    September 15, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Slaughterhouse – they're a great thing for hip-hop and the reason why is because on every track they try to out do each other and the results are bananas*track you should check out: Onslaught 2Skyzoo – the best new hip-hop artist (and i mean real hip-hop) i love real hip-hop, and i like this cat better than drake and whoever else is new and buzzin'*track you should check out:Beautiful Decay

  13. 13 andrade
    September 15, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    its never too late to get into the dirty projectors. bitte orca is absolutely incredible.HOW DO YOU ONLY HAVE CRYING LIGHTENING?!?! arctic monkeys are in my top five favorite bands and their earlier work is a MUST hear. their earlier work is perfection. despair in the departure lounge might just be my favorite song of all time. please take a good listen to both bands. and i saw mos def in concert last tuesday at boston's house of blues. sooo good. ecstatic is actually a great album. and dinosaur jr is the shiiiit


Leave a Reply

