Archive for July 9th, 2009


Wing Span – "Good Morning NY"

Wing Span will be dropping his first EP Growing Wings in August and even though I’m not very familiar with the emcee, I’m excited because the project is executive produced by up and coming producer Charlie Hilton. Here’s a promotional track over the beat from Cage’s “Good Morning”.

Wing Span said of this track:

I was testing on a new studio when i did this track, recorded it very quickly. I’m in love with the whole NY hip hop scene. I wanted to do like a live gritty, talk shit, but still be kinda lyrical at the same time type of track. This is nothing serious, “Growing Wings EP” coming soon executive produced by Charlie Hilton, look out for it.

Wing Span – Good Morning NY


Forbes’ 2009 Hip-Hop Cash Kings

I posted the full article in the Wings section, but (since there’s not much else to post today) I figured I’d put up a quick recap. It’s okay. Money’s not everything, right? I’d rather be poor and not Diddy.

1. Jay-Z – 35 Million
2. Diddy – 30 Million
3. Kanye West – 25 Million
4. 50 Cent – 20 Million
5. Akon – 20 Million
6. Lil Wayne – 18 Million
7. Timbaland – 17 Million
8. Pharrell – 16 Million
9. T-Pain – 15 Million
10. Eminem – 14 Million
11. Dr.Dre – 13 Million
12. Snoop Dogg – 11 Million
13. Ludacris – 10 Million
14. Common – 8 Million
15. Will.I.Am – 8 Million
16. T.I. – 8 Million
17. Swizz Beatz – 8 Million
18. Andre 3000 – 7 Million
19. Big Boi- 7 Million
20. Flo-Rida – 6 Million
21. Rick Ross – 6 Million
22. The Game – 6 Million
23. Young Jeezy- 6 Million


New! 3OH!3 Ft. Kid CuDi & Mike Posner – "Don’t Trust Me"

Not too long ago I posted this track, but without Mike Posner. Well Mike jumped on it and definitely spiced it up! Dope sh!t !!! Courtesy of DatNewCudi!

3OH!3 Ft. Kid CuDi & Mike Posner – “Don’t Trust Me” (Remix Remix)


New! Yeah Yeah Yeahs – "Heads Will Roll" 2 Remixes

Spotted this over @ Mossip!

Passion Pit & Weird Tapes both remixed Yeah Yeah Yeahs smash single “Heads Will Roll”.

YYYs – “Heads Will Roll” (Passion Pit Remix)

YYYs – “Heads Will Roll” (Weird Tapes Remix)

Also, YYYs is holding a T-shirt contest. Basically, you design your own YYYs T-shirt & submit it to them. You get chance to have your T-shirt design published on their site, printed & sold on their tours & online store. For more details on the contest and/or to submit a design, click HERE!


New! Jet Audio Ft. CurT@!n$, Mickey Factz, Outasight & Danny – "Stand Alone"

Here’s the title track for Jet Audio’s project titled *Stand Alone Complex* which drops July 21st! This is a dope fricking track!!

Jet Audio Ft. CurT@!n$, Mickey Factz, Outasight & Danny – “Stand Alone”


MGMT – "Destrokk" Remastered

I read over at We Like It Indie that MGMT’s 2005 Time To Pretend EP (crazy how long it took those two to blow up off old material) was remastered and rereleased today. Buy that shit here. A lot of the time I don’t even notice the sound difference when post-90’s stuff gets remastered, but it’s nice to know that someone put the time/effort into making sure I get high quality sound.

MGMT – Destrokk (Remastered)

Time to Pretend
Boogie Down
Love Always Remains
Indie Rokkers


New! Jay Reatard – "Wounded"

Jay Reatard’s new album Watch Me Fall comes out on August 4 (on vinyl) and August 18 (on cd and digital). The second promo MP3, entitled “Wounded,” wraps layers of Tall Dwarfs-ish acoustic guitar around a typically complex Jay song structure. In two and a half minutes it builds to an ironically celebratory refrain. We challenge you to get this one out of your head after listening to it a couple of times. via Matador Records

Jay Reatard – Wounded |